Singles Don't Bite Editors Blog

Previously Sane Woman Developing Geeky Tendencies At 50

Posted on: September 25, 2012

This working from home business is hard going!  Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise!  But, in the whole scheme of things, I wouldn’t change it for anything.  What I have changed recently however, is my working location.  I had originally been camping out in the top room – the previous junk dumping location of the house hold but it just wasn’t doing it for me so I am now camped out in the corner of the living room with a view of the garden, mad collies at my feet and feel very much more part of the world!

I really had no idea just how hard this was all going to be.  Being the eternal optimist I thought – crazy woman gives up day job – has idea for new website – spends what little money she has on getting external help to build the site – writes articles like she is possessed on a daily basis and then expects life and the universe will just take over at that point.  Not so, I am having to learn totally geeky publishing things I didn’t even know existed two months ago and if I am totally honest, never dreamt I would be at this place at 50!  But here we are, and failure is just not an option so it’s onwards and upwards.

It’s quite a strange existence writing massive amounts of copy on a daily basis.  Today for example I have covered everything from Child maintenance and divorce to car maintenance for beginners and family budgeting – never a dull moment in my life!  What I am really looking forward to after the launch in a week or so time is to begin to get feedback from readers – hearing of their stories and experiences will help be tailor the site better to exactly what single people want.  At the moment, I am working in a bit of a vacuum, but that is just the nature of the beast at the early stages of such developments.  My only real concern is that I really have no idea how long it is going to take to generate revenue from this site and I only hope we are able to keep the big bad wolf from the door until then!

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Memberships

mumsnet
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

